top of page

Mystery box: recreated!

As you may recall, a mysterious box appeared on my table the other day. I recreated the exterior surfaces (if you check out that post you can see why I didn't take a picture). I wasn't able to open it, and no hinges or latches were evident on the surface.


This time I noticed a small crack in the seam, like some component had started to come apart. With some finagling I was able to pry the thing open!


I tried again to take a picture but with the same problem as before... just like the Drifter photos, it's as if it's not really there. I sketched what I could, trying to balance between inspection and drawing before it disappeared. Of course, it was gone after only a few minutes. The pieces disappeared at slightly different times... I wonder if they are separately traveling now, or if it will piece itself back together. Oh well, I did what I had to do! No regrets.



The interior was fascinating, I quickly sketched the core components. It looks like each has a different function, but I'm not sure what.




Aside from the box itself, there were a bunch of weird pieces inside! Oddly, they looked a lot more like stuff you might find laying about - jars, strings, a ribbon....

They did have odd markings but otherwise looked disconcertingly familiar. Are they collecting things from our world? Why?


Recent Posts

See All

Follow the lights

Recreating a strange portion of the box - lights that turn off and on. It reminds me of the "lights out" puzzle, where pressing a button introduces a state change. I haven't quite gotten it to work th

bottom of page